

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NCATA ANNOUNCES AWARD WINNERS AT ANNUAL MEETING

Wrightsville Beach, N.C - The North Carolina Athletic Trainers' Association held its annual meeting in Wrightsville Beach March 4-6 in conjunction with National Athletic Training Month. The highlight of the weekend was the annual awards presented by the association.

The most prestigious of the awards was the presentation of the **2022 Hall of Fame** class. The newest members to be presented into the **NCATA Hall of Fame** were **Meredith Petschauer** of Chapel Hill and **James Rehbock** of Raleigh, NC. Petschauer is a professor at UNC-Chapel Hill and Rehbock is retired serving as a medical observer for Atlantic Coast Conference football. Also recognized were the **2021 Hall of Fame** Inductees, the late **Bill Griffin** and **Randy Pridgen** of East Wake High School.

The **NCATA Presidential Scholarship for Leadership** was awarded to **Jenna Tomlinson** from High Point University.

The NCATA Hall of Fame Scholarship of Academic Excellence was awarded to Danielle Broman from UNC-Wilmington.

The **NCATA Pioneer Scholarship for Service** was presented to **Anthony Corona**, also from UNC-Wilmington.

The **Presidential Award** recognizes any business, medical practices, organizations or individual that have supported healthcare services above and beyond the expected in support of athletic trainers and the athletic training community. This year, the NCATA proudly recognizes four different individuals for this award. The first is **Charles E. Conrad**, Director of Southeast Regional Climate Center and Professor of Geography at the **University of North Carolina** – **Chapel Hill.** The second recipient is **Felicia Hall** from **Novant Health Sports Medicine**. The third recipient is **Paula Guerrero** of Smithfield. The last recipient is **Dr. Mark Galland**, Orthopedic Surgery and Sports Medicine from **OrthoNC** in Raleigh.

The **Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award** was presented to **Nina Walker**, UNC-Chapel Hill. Walker has been a tremendous leader in the NCATA as the PR Committee Chair and Vice-President. She is the President-elect for the NCATA and will serve a two-year term.

The **Lifesaver Recognition Award** was presented to eight different individuals who were involved in life-saving efforts of student-athletes and a spectator Those being honored include Katie Hanes Romano (Atrium Health), Eric Hall (Cary HS), Makayla Lawler (Jack Britt HS), Stefanie Jo Mansfield (Pinehurst, NC), Frank Sanchez and Morgan Krout (Pinecrest HS), Stephen Borchik (Greensboro, NC), and Stacy B. Davis (Alexander Central HS).

Quiz Bowl Winner: UNC-Wilmington was our Quiz Bowl winners, but due to graduation at UNC-W, our runner-ups, UNC-Greensboro will be competing at Regionals during the Mid-Atlantic Athletic Trainers Symposium in May.

##

If you have any questions regarding this news release, please contact Taryn Strickland, Public Relations Committee, at tm.nicoletta@gmail.com, 603-662-7585 or Katie Hanes-Romano at khanesromano@gmail.com 336-848-2264